Throwback Thursday-The First Thing I Ever Sewed (by myself!)

So when I was a little girl, my grandma wanted me to learn to sew, but I just wasn’t interested. However, once I had a little girl of my own, I wanted her to have those sweet homemade dresses and costumes! So I set out on a mission to learn how to sew. This was my very first attempt:

20821073512_edb40eeee3_o

(Ignore the fact that Barbie is wearing a painted-on swimsuit underneath!)

This project was pretty simple, and it was handsewn because I didn’t have a machine at the time. I got the pattern and instructions from here.

All I needed to buy was a fat quarter ($0.97 at Walmart,) a needle, and some thread.  (The ribbon I had already.) It took me a few hours to make, but with a sewing machine I imagine it would only take half an hour or so. It’s a really easy, versatile pattern that can be used with scraps. It makes a quick and easy gift for all the Barbie-lovers in your life!

Leave a Reply

